“In Their Shoes…” with Katie Lacy

“In Their Shoes…” with Katie Lacy

Each month, we sit down with a different employee across our 6 offices to learn more about their role at Coleman as well as their personal life. This month, we sat down with Katie Lacy, Associate Operations Man​ager on the Scheduling Team who is close to celebrating her 6 year anniversary with Coleman!

Where are you from and where did you grow up? 

I was born in California (bay area), but mostly grew up in Cary/Raleigh, North Carolina.

Where were you and what were you doing before you came to Coleman? 

I was living in Raleigh, and I had just graduated college from NC State (Go Wolfpack!)

When did you start with Coleman?

 March 24, 2014

What is your favorite thing about your job? Favorite thing about working in Raleigh? 

Getting to interact with people from all different backgrounds and learning about niche industries I never knew existed. Additionally, I’ve enjoyed seeing how Coleman has changed over the years, particularly how the Scheduling Team advanced and grew with each new endeavor.

Where did you go to school and what did you study? Why did you choose that major / course of study? 

North Carolina State University – BA in History. Anyone in the Raleigh office can attest that I am an avid reader and am always reading a different book during my lunch break. In college, I thought I would use my history degree to get a Master’s in Library Science. While that didn’t work out, I still have an appetite for learning and fuel it with weekly trips to the library.

If you could only eat one food for the rest of your life, what would it be? 

This is too hard! I love all food. I guess if I had to choose one thing, it would be tacos.

What are three things on your “bucket list”? 

  1. Take 6 months – 1 year to travel around North/Central America in an RV/Van with John, my fiancé (soon to be husband!)
  2. Go to culinary school.
  3. Own and live on a goat farm.

If you could travel anywhere in the world right now, where would you go? 

Patagonia in Argentina

What is the last book you read? Would you recommend it? 

Just finished “Wild Game: My Mother, Her Lover, and Me” by Adrienne Brodeur – Yes! Great read if you liked The Glass Castle or Educated.

Currently reading “Watchmen” by Alan Moore, Dave Gibbons, and John Higgins – The HBO series was great! I’m also loving the art in the novel.

Have any secret talents?

I can knit, mainly cute little baby shoes and hats for friends and family.

Where is your favorite place to hang out in Raleigh?

Honestly, my apartment. I love to be in my kitchen cooking and baking for all my friends and family.

What are some of your hobbies and interests outside of work? 

I love to go to Yoga classes, ride my bike (Raleigh has some great trails), and of course reading and cooking! ​